The Language of Honking

If you grew up in the U.S., like me, you might notice that the use of the horn of a car tends to be very minimal. Typically, gringos are only taught to use the horn when reminding someone the light has turned green, when there is a dangerous situation happening, to express impatience during a traffic jam or when some other driver did something they weren’t supposed to do, like cut you off or almost run into you.

One of the first things I noticed walking through the streets of San Jose was how often people tend to use their car horns. I probably could have blogged about this sooner, but I still wanted to talk about the language of honking utilized in Costa Rica by those who dare to drive. Some of these are a little exaggerated, but for the most part this is how it goes.

1. ¡Hola, guapa! ¿Como estás?

2. Bro, go fix your face.

3. Cross the highway – now!

4. The Conversation:

  • (Inquisitive honk) Hey can I cut you off?
  • (Affirmative honk) Sure, go ahead!
  • (Thankful honk) ¡Gracias!
  • (Happy-to-help honk) ¡Con mucho gusto! (Compliment honk) Good merge by the way!
  • (Thankful honk) ¡Gracias! (Honk of concern) Drive safe, mai!
  • (Assuring honk) Will do, bro!

5. I’m comin’ up behind you! Get outta the way!

6. ¡Hola gringa! ¿Como esta? How are you liking Costa Rica so far?

7. Don’t cross the street or I’ll hit you.

8. Walk faster!

9. Lady with a baby!

10. (Impatience with this traffic jam)!!!

11. I’m having such a good day today!

12. My day sucks, get out of the way!

13. ¡Vota! The election is tomorrow!

14. Long live La Liga!!

15. I wanna get home to watch the game!

16. Get off your phone and drive!

17. Tranquilo/a, mai.

18. (Y, por supuesto) ¡Pura vida!

Just something that makes Costa Rica so Tico.

 

¡Hasta luego! ¡Pura vida!

-Cara

Leave a comment